Wexistence

Wexistential Crises, Wayward Thoughts, Welcome Distractions and Willful Pursuits

Vicky Cristina Barcelona

leave a comment »

Vicky Cristina Barcelona would have you believe that if you choose to be a responsible adult you’re doomed to a boring existence. You must flout social norms and conventions in order to truly live life. You must necessarily be a pretentious faux-bohemian to have passionate relationships. You must be emotionally dysfunctional to create anything of artistic value. The movie is mildly entertaining, if you can get past the artsy pseudo-intellectual masturbation.

Cristina, who spent the last six months writing, directing, and acting in a 12-minute film which she then hated, had just broken up with yet another boyfriend… [She] expected something very different out of love. She had reluctantly accepted suffering as an inevitable component of deep passion, and was resigned to putting her feelings at risk. If you asked her what it was she was gambling her emotions on to win, she would not have been able to say.

We all know a Cristina. Ry even dated one — something I’ll never let him live down. In fact I think those people exist because of the propagation of the stereotype by various media. Life imitates art, etc. etc.

But as much as I scorn everything that the character represents, I can, to a certain extent, relate to her. Cristina suffers from chronic discontent. She doesn’t know what she wants. All she knows is that she’s restless and unhappy with her present situation.

Like Cristina, I find myself constantly searching for something that will make me happier, more fulfilled. I’m not exactly unhappy with my life, I just feel like I should be doing more with it. Not sure what specifically, just more than what I’m doing right now. I’m nagged by the thought that I haven’t achieved enough in my career, that I should be pushing myself harder, that I should be looking for “better” employment, with no real definition of what “better” is. More financially rewarding, perhaps? I am tired of being broke all the time. Sometimes I wonder if my idealism is worth it.

I don’t know if it’s just me or if “chronic discontent” is characteristic of twenty-somethings who are still trying to find their place in the world.

Written by Aissa

March 2, 2009 at 2:44 pm

Leave a Reply

