Wexistence

Wexistential Crises, Wayward Thoughts, Welcome Distractions and Willful Pursuits

Reason No. 15058203 Why I Love Working Across the Street from Powerplant

leave a comment »

It’s Monday morning and I’m harassed and on the way to work I managed to tear my left contact lens and rip my stockings while stuck in traffic on the Skyway. But thankfully I just have to wait thirty more minutes before the mall opens and I can replace them both, and grab a chai latte from Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf on my way back to the office.

Slightly tangential upate: On my way to the optical shop I ran into EJ Afzelius, a college blockmate whom I hadn’t seen in ages. “EJ, you look so…” I wanted to say “grown up” but instead I said “dignified.” In college he always looked like he’d just rolled out of bed. Today he was wearing a tie and pressed slacks and he was carrying a briefcase. Man, has it really been that long? Are we really that old?

We exchanged the usual pleasantries, how are you, what do you do now. Upon finding out that I’m in educational reform, EJ exclaimed, “That was your term paper!” It took me a while to remember what he was talking about. For an English class in second year we wrote term papers which we presented in class. EJ said my presentation really made an impression on him, and it was nice to see that I’d come full circle. Funny, the things people remember about you.

Written by Aissa

August 11, 2008 at 9:37 am

Leave a Reply

