Wexistence

Wexistential Crises, Wayward Thoughts, Welcome Distractions and Willful Pursuits

Indy 4/Speed Racer

leave a comment »

I didn’t enjoy Indy 4 as much as I thought I would. The first three movies are cultural touchstones of my childhood, and I don’t know if Crystal Skull didn’t live up to (my memory of) them because I was less critical as a kid or because it just wasn’t that good a movie. Probably both. Also, it never used to bother me the way Indy would manhandle ancient artifacts or trash archeological sites, but this time around I’d wince every time he did. Now I understand why real archeologists hate Indiana Jones. It was fun to see some of his classic moves on screen again, but it was still a disappointing movie experience. They lost me at the aliens.

I don’t understand how anyone could not like Speed Racer. Unlike some previous Wachowski projects, this movie was made not to be taken the least bit seriously. No pseudo philosophical/religious/political statements, just lots of amazing special effects and seizure-inducing psychedelia. Everything was absurdly exaggerated, the dialogue was cheesy, the plot predictable, and the “twist” was non-existent as it was blatantly obvious that Racer X was who Racer X was. But did anyone really expect otherwise? I left the theater satisfied that I got what I came for, though I felt the drama with Racer X’s secret identity was totally unnecessary, and Trixie was totally slutty (and I don’t mean in a good way).

Written by Aissa

May 29, 2008 at 1:35 pm

Posted in tv/movies

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

